Smart VIN Check vehicle history report
Sample reportIssued Sep 22, 2026Sources NMVTIS title records · Auction and sales records · Market data · NHTSA

Sport Utility Vehicle
1999 Toyota 4Runner Luxury
JT3HN87R1X02*****VIN, masked on the sample
- Engine
- 3.4L V6, 183 hp
- Drive
- 4WD
- Fuel
- Gasoline
- Built in
- Toyota City, Japan
- Last odometer
- 265,069 mi
- Titled in
- PA, NJ, GA
Title status: SALVAGE
Recorded on Jul 31, 2024.
Problem checks
Source: NMVTIS state brands and insurer reports, theft records, auction damage
Salvage or junk brand
- Result
- Reported
- Detail
- Salvage: Other, Jul 31, 2024
Insurance total loss
- Result
- Reported
- Detail
- Sold by an insurer at a salvage auction, Jul 31, 2024
Flood or water damage
- Result
- None reported
- Detail
- No flood brand from a reporting state
Fire damage
- Result
- None reported
- Detail
- No fire brand from a reporting state
Hail damage
- Result
- None reported
- Detail
- No hail brand from a reporting state
Rebuilt or reconstructed
- Result
- None reported
- Detail
- No rebuilt brand from a reporting state
Odometer brand or rollback
- Result
- None reported
- Detail
- 12 readings rise in order
Theft
- Result
- None reported
- Detail
- Not listed as stolen
Lemon or buyback
- Result
- None reported
- Detail
- No manufacturer buyback brand
Structural damage
- Result
- Not stated
- Detail
- Not stated in the damage records; have the frame inspected
Airbag deployment
- Result
- Not stated
- Detail
- Not reported by our sources
| Check | Result | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Salvage or junk brand | Reported | Salvage: Other, Jul 31, 2024 |
| Insurance total loss | Reported | Sold by an insurer at a salvage auction, Jul 31, 2024 |
| Flood or water damage | None reported | No flood brand from a reporting state |
| Fire damage | None reported | No fire brand from a reporting state |
| Hail damage | None reported | No hail brand from a reporting state |
| Rebuilt or reconstructed | None reported | No rebuilt brand from a reporting state |
| Odometer brand or rollback | None reported | 12 readings rise in order |
| Theft | None reported | Not listed as stolen |
| Lemon or buyback | None reported | No manufacturer buyback brand |
| Structural damage | Not stated | Not stated in the damage records; have the frame inspected |
| Airbag deployment | Not stated | Not reported by our sources |
Title history
Source: NMVTIS state title records
Checked against the title brands states report to NMVTIS (salvage, junk, flood, fire, rebuilt, lemon buyback, odometer and others): 1 record found, listed below.
Jul 31, 2024
Feb 19, 2003
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title issued
- Odometer
- 46,006 mi
Oct 4, 2008
- State
- NJ
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 170,969 mi
Feb 19, 2009 to Apr 18, 2012
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred, 8 times
- Odometer
- 175,536 to 209,000 mi
Jan 23, 2014
- State
- GA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 226,981 mi
Jul 27, 2016
- State
- GA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- Not recorded
Oct 10, 2016
- State
- GA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred (current title)
- Odometer
- Not recorded
Jul 31, 2024
- State
- GA
- Event
- Clear title reported at auction
- Odometer
- 265,069 mi
Undated
- State
- GA
- Event
- CLEAR title reported in sale listing
- Odometer
- 265,069 mi
| Date | State | Event | Odometer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Feb 19, 2003 | PA | Title issued | 46,006 mi |
| Oct 4, 2008 | NJ | Title reissued or transferred | 170,969 mi |
| Feb 19, 2009 to Apr 18, 2012 | PA | Title reissued or transferred, 8 times | 175,536 to 209,000 mi |
| Jan 23, 2014 | GA | Title reissued or transferred | 226,981 mi |
| Jul 27, 2016 | GA | Title reissued or transferred | Not recorded |
| Oct 10, 2016 | GA | Title reissued or transferred (current title) | Not recorded |
| Jul 31, 2024 | GA | Clear title reported at auction | 265,069 mi |
| Undated | GA | CLEAR title reported in sale listing | 265,069 mi |
Feb 19, 2003
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title issued
- Odometer
- 46,006 mi
Oct 4, 2008
- State
- NJ
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 170,969 mi
Feb 19, 2009
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 175,536 mi
Mar 17, 2009
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 175,542 mi
Jun 16, 2009
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 175,604 mi
Nov 5, 2009
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 179,994 mi
May 19, 2011
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 194,783 mi
Jun 7, 2011
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 195,000 mi
Mar 20, 2012
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 195,000 mi
Apr 18, 2012
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 209,000 mi
Jan 23, 2014
- State
- GA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 226,981 mi
Jul 27, 2016
- State
- GA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- Not recorded
Oct 10, 2016
- State
- GA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred (current title)
- Odometer
- Not recorded
Jul 31, 2024
- State
- GA
- Event
- Clear title reported at auction
- Odometer
- 265,069 mi
Undated
- State
- GA
- Event
- CLEAR title reported in sale listing
- Odometer
- 265,069 mi
| Date | State | Event | Odometer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Feb 19, 2003 | PA | Title issued | 46,006 mi |
| Oct 4, 2008 | NJ | Title reissued or transferred | 170,969 mi |
| Feb 19, 2009 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 175,536 mi |
| Mar 17, 2009 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 175,542 mi |
| Jun 16, 2009 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 175,604 mi |
| Nov 5, 2009 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 179,994 mi |
| May 19, 2011 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 194,783 mi |
| Jun 7, 2011 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 195,000 mi |
| Mar 20, 2012 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 195,000 mi |
| Apr 18, 2012 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 209,000 mi |
| Jan 23, 2014 | GA | Title reissued or transferred | 226,981 mi |
| Jul 27, 2016 | GA | Title reissued or transferred | Not recorded |
| Oct 10, 2016 | GA | Title reissued or transferred (current title) | Not recorded |
| Jul 31, 2024 | GA | Clear title reported at auction | 265,069 mi |
| Undated | GA | CLEAR title reported in sale listing | 265,069 mi |
Damage records
Source: auction and insurance records
Georgia · Jul 31, 2024
- Impact area: front
- Mechanical or water damage named
Damage repaired without an insurance claim or a police report does not reach any database. Have the car inspected before you buy.
Odometer
Source: NMVTIS title records, auctions and listings
Readings rise in order; no rollback. Last reading 265,069 mi on Jul 31, 2024.
Feb 19, 2003
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 46,006 mi
Oct 4, 2008
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 170,969 mi
Feb 19, 2009
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 175,536 mi
Mar 17, 2009
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 175,542 mi
Jun 16, 2009
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 175,604 mi
Nov 5, 2009
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 179,994 mi
May 19, 2011
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 194,783 mi
Jun 7, 2011
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 195,000 mi
Mar 20, 2012
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 195,000 mi
Apr 18, 2012
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 209,000 mi
Jan 23, 2014
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 226,981 mi
Jul 31, 2024
- Source
- Auction record
- Odometer
- 265,069 mi
| Date | Source | Odometer |
|---|---|---|
| Feb 19, 2003 | State title record | 46,006 mi |
| Oct 4, 2008 | State title record | 170,969 mi |
| Feb 19, 2009 | State title record | 175,536 mi |
| Mar 17, 2009 | State title record | 175,542 mi |
| Jun 16, 2009 | State title record | 175,604 mi |
| Nov 5, 2009 | State title record | 179,994 mi |
| May 19, 2011 | State title record | 194,783 mi |
| Jun 7, 2011 | State title record | 195,000 mi |
| Mar 20, 2012 | State title record | 195,000 mi |
| Apr 18, 2012 | State title record | 209,000 mi |
| Jan 23, 2014 | State title record | 226,981 mi |
| Jul 31, 2024 | Auction record | 265,069 mi |
Detailed history
Every dated record, oldest first
Feb 19, 2003
- Odometer
- 46,006 mi
- Source
- Pennsylvania title office
- Record
- Title issued
Oct 4, 2008
- Odometer
- 170,969 mi
- Source
- New Jersey title office
- Record
- Title reissued or transferred
Feb 19, 2009 to Apr 18, 2012
- Odometer
- 175,536 to 209,000 mi
- Source
- Pennsylvania title office
- Record
- Title reissued or transferred, 8 times
Jan 23, 2014
- Odometer
- 226,981 mi
- Source
- Georgia title office
- Record
- Title reissued or transferred
Jul 27, 2016
- Odometer
- Source
- Georgia title office
- Record
- Title reissued or transferred
Oct 10, 2016
- Odometer
- Source
- Georgia title office
- Record
- Title reissued or transferred (current title)
Jul 31, 2024
- Odometer
- 265,069 mi
- Source
- Auction record
- Record
- Clear title reported at auction
Jul 31, 2024
- Odometer
- Source
- NMVTIS report
- Record
- Salvage brand applied (other)
Jul 31, 2024
- Odometer
- Source
- Salvage auction, GA
- Record
- Front end damage reported at an insurance salvage auction, secondary damage: suspension
Undated
- Odometer
- 265,069 mi
- Source
- Sale listing
- Record
- CLEAR title reported in sale listing
| Date | Odometer | Source | Record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Feb 19, 2003 | 46,006 mi | Pennsylvania title office | Title issued |
| Oct 4, 2008 | 170,969 mi | New Jersey title office | Title reissued or transferred |
| Feb 19, 2009 to Apr 18, 2012 | 175,536 to 209,000 mi | Pennsylvania title office | Title reissued or transferred, 8 times |
| Jan 23, 2014 | 226,981 mi | Georgia title office | Title reissued or transferred |
| Jul 27, 2016 | Georgia title office | Title reissued or transferred | |
| Oct 10, 2016 | Georgia title office | Title reissued or transferred (current title) | |
| Jul 31, 2024 | 265,069 mi | Auction record | Clear title reported at auction |
| Jul 31, 2024 | NMVTIS report | Salvage brand applied (other) | |
| Jul 31, 2024 | Salvage auction, GA | Front end damage reported at an insurance salvage auction, secondary damage: suspension | |
| Undated | 265,069 mi | Sale listing | CLEAR title reported in sale listing |
Safety recalls
Source: NHTSA
Remedy status was not reported for these 2 campaigns. Campaigns are listed for this model year, make and model, so not every one applies to every car. Those marked “Aftermarket equipment” apply only if that equipment was fitted. Any dealer can check with the VIN, free.
May 24, 2006
Certain ck motorsports combination headlights, clear corner, bumper, and side marker lights sold as replacement lamps for use on the passenger vehicles listed above. Some combination lamps that are not equipped with amber side reflectors fail to conform to federal motor vehicle safety standard no. 108, lamps, reflective devices, and associated equipment.
Mar 23, 2006
Certain pro-a motors corner lamps, turn signals, and headlights sold as replacement lamps for use on certain passenger vehicles listed above. Some combination lamps that are not equipped with amber side reflectors fail to conform to federal motor vehicle safety standard no. 108, lamps, reflective devices, and associated equipment.
Maintenance and warranty
Source: manufacturer schedules and factory terms
Factory warranty
- Basic
- 3 yr / 36,000 mi
- Corrosion perforation
- 5 yr / unlimited mi
- Powertrain
- 5 yr / 60,000 mi
Based on this vehicle's age, factory coverage has likely expired. Terms shown are the original factory specifications. Verify remaining coverage with an authorized dealer.
Market value
Market data for the Base 4dr 4x4 Manual trim
Reported market data, not an appraisal or an offer
$550 to $5,561
These values assume a clean title. With this car’s title brand it is typically worth far less.
Outstanding
- Trade-in
- $2,449
- Private party
- $4,364
- Dealer retail
- $5,561
Clean
- Trade-in
- $1,982
- Private party
- $3,460
- Dealer retail
- $4,325
Average
- Trade-in
- $1,649
- Private party
- $2,815
- Dealer retail
- $3,443
Rough
- Trade-in
- $550
- Private party
- $939
- Dealer retail
- $1,148
| Condition | Trade-in | Private party | Dealer retail |
|---|---|---|---|
| Outstanding | $2,449 | $4,364 | $5,561 |
| Clean | $1,982 | $3,460 | $4,325 |
| Average | $1,649 | $2,815 | $3,443 |
| Rough | $550 | $939 | $1,148 |
Reported market data for this model and trim. Condition, options and local demand move real prices.
Photos
Source: auction and listing archives
Specifications
Source: NHTSA VIN decode and vehicle data
- Model Year
- 1999
- Make
- TOYOTA
- Model
- 4Runner
- Trim
- Luxury
- Series
- RZN180L/VZN180L/RZN185L/VZN185L
- Body Class
- Sport Utility Vehicle [SUV]/Multipurpose Vehicle [MPV]
- Doors
- 4
- Vehicle Type
- MULTIPURPOSE PASSENGER VEHICLE (MPV)
Identity
- Displacement (L)
- 3.4
- Cylinders
- 6
- Configuration
- V-Shaped
- Horsepower
- 183
- Fuel Type
- Gasoline
Engine
- Drive Type
- 4WD/4-Wheel Drive/4x4
Drivetrain
- Manufacturer
- TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION
- Plant City
- TOYOTA CITY
- Plant State
- AICHI
- Plant Country
- JAPAN
Manufacturing
Sources and notices
This report draws on: NMVTIS title records, Auction and sales records, Market data, NHTSA
The records in this report are shown in English, as the sources give them. The legal notices below are in English.
NMVTIS Consumer Access Disclaimer: The National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) is an electronic system that contains information on certain automobiles titled in the United States. NMVTIS is intended to serve as a reliable source of title and brand history for automobiles, but it does not contain detailed information regarding a vehicle’s repair history.
All states, insurance companies, and junk and salvage yards are required by federal law to regularly report information to NMVTIS. However, NMVTIS does not contain information on all motor vehicles in the United States because some states are not yet providing their vehicle data to the system.
Information on previous, significant vehicle damage may not be included in the system if the vehicle was never determined by an insurance company (or other appropriate entity) to be a total loss or branded by a state titling agency. Consumers can find more information about NMVTIS at vehiclehistory.bja.ojp.gov.
Reports return vehicle records only. Personal identifying information, including owner names, residential addresses, and phone numbers, is withheld under the federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (18 U.S.C. § 2721).
Smart VIN Check reports are compiled from government and industry data sources, including NMVTIS title records and NHTSA specification and recall data, to the extent records have been reported and are available for a given vehicle. A report is a research tool, not a warranty of condition, and is not a substitute for a physical inspection. See our Terms and Refund Policy.